Meet the staff : Megan Bruce

We are presenting new series of blogs where you have a chance to meet Foundation Centre staff. Meet Megan Bruce:

How long have you been a part of Foundation Centre and what do you do here?

I’ve worked in the Foundation Centre since 2004 when I started as a sessional EAP tutor. In that time I’ve been International Coordinator, Learning and Teaching Leader for Durham City, and am now Director of Learning and Teaching across the Centre. I teach in the Academic Practice modules, the Introduction to Liberal Arts module, and the Understanding Language module, all at Durham City. In addition to teaching, I oversee student support across the Centre and am admissions selector for Music, Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, Education Studies, Combined Honours and Liberal Arts.

What are your areas of interest in your subject?

My degrees are in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics (Lexicography). I’m interested in words: how we learn them; how we access information about them; and how best to teach new vocabulary to students. I’ve been running a corpus project with Simon Rees since 2012 which seeks to help students across the university develop vocabulary in their discipline.

IMG_3934

What are you scared of?

Wasps. I’m also disturbed by people who can co-exist happily with mess. I’m somewhat of a neat-freak.

What are your guilty pleasures?

I buy way too many dictionaries. In my defence, I do read them all.

What is your favorite place on campus?

Has to be Trevs. I was an undergrad there (1996-1999) and that’s where I met my husband.

What kind of student were you?

I was a big participator in college life. I edited the yearbook, played in the orchestra, sang in the choir, took part in the musical, started various other music groups, and was also Ecology rep.

What would you advise to your new students coming this year?

Join stuff in your college. Even if you don’t live in, find your niche. There are great networks there and lifelong friends to be made. Plus over 70% of Durham students marry another Durham student, so who knows what you might gain by joining in!

IMG_3931

Leave a Reply

